Dr. CotsarelisWelcome and thank you for your interest in the Penn Dermatology website. As chairman of the nation’s oldest Department of Dermatology and on behalf of our entire faculty and staff, I encourage you to explore our comprehensive patient care programs, clinical services, education and training opportunities, and world-class research and clinical trial initiatives.

Penn Dermatology is recognized as one of the top programs in the nation. Year after year, we have physicians awarded “Top Doc” accolades and the department routinely achieves international recognition for excellence in clinical, educational and research endeavors. Our research programs are funded by the National Institutes of Health and our faculty members are some of the most productive in the nation.

Our dedicated physicians keep patient-centered care as the main focus and the driving force of our work, and patients receive the best dermatologic care in all of the clinical service areas we treat.

As a high-volume center, we use the most sophisticated diagnostic testing, surgical treatment options, drug and specialized therapies, and cosmetic and skin enhancement services.

The dermatologists, dermatologic surgeons and researchers in the department are at the forefront of medicine and we teach the next generation of leaders. Our clinicians are not only well-versed in the latest clinical practices, but also have direct involvement with research and clinical trials to develop promising and cutting-edge treatment options for tomorrow. To ensure that our department remains a world leader in all areas of dermatology, we continue to recruit the best and brightest physicians and scientists to keep our department strong and sustainable to meet the complex and technological challenges of 21st century dermatologic medicine.

I am grateful and humbled to lead this historic department. We are at your service and committed to alleviating suffering from skin, hair and nail diseases and disorders.


George Cotsarelis, MD
Chair, Department of Dermatology
Milton B. Hartzell Professor and Chairman